Bottled Ship Builder

How do you make ratlines?

Bruce Foxworthy

Hi guys:

Just starting up again after a 30 plus year absence. I can't tell you how much I love this site and all the things I'm learning from it. I just read a thread about dead eyes and thought for sure there are some neat ways you guys make your ratlines. In the past they have always plagued me. I've tried using metal and plastic window screening material but they don't look that great. So how about spreading your experience with me on your techniques.

Thanks Bruce Foxworthy

i guess the forum is dead.

I am a noob, going through the old threads trying to get hints and pointers in my newfound hobby.

The people who build ships in bottles seem very secretive people, They hide crucial steps and techniques. And they seem to be sad that their art is about to die...

So i found this info elsewhere and i am using it.

I make the thread hard by coating it with white glue and hanging it with a weight attached at bottom. Then I take a printout of the shrouds, and place the thread parts on it, or measure and arrange it on a diagram i made. Then stick horizontal lines with white glue again.

Edited by aadkitta
additional info.

Addkitta:

Thanks for sharing your method with me.

I'm hoping that because it's a holiday weekend that that is why there hasn't been more response,yet anyway.

I'm guessing that you hang your ratlines after the ship has been erected, cause I'm thinking that your process would end up being pretty stiff when it's done. I mean that it wouldn't lend itself to folding down easily without coming undone when it comes time to slip the ship through the neck of the bottle. Or am I missing something?

as I said, i am just a beginner.

But it seemed to work.