Bottled Ship Builder

Thread Recommendation

Bobohamer

I am new to building SIB and need recommendations on thread.  "A" thread and #24 are recommended in building John Fox's III Bluenose but where do you purchase such thread?  It seems that most use fly tying thread, but is there a certain kind?  Fly tying thread seems to separate on me.  Where do you purchase your thread from?  Your advice would be appreciated.  TNX

18 hours ago, Bobohamer said:

I am new to building SIB and need recommendations on thread.  "A" thread and #24 are recommended in building John Fox's III Bluenose but where do you purchase such thread?  It seems that most use fly tying thread, but is there a certain kind?  Fly tying thread seems to separate on me.  Where do you purchase your thread from?  Your advice would be appreciated.  TNX

Fly tying threads are the best if you are building small and to scale, as much as possible anyway. I don't have the URL for a site, but to keep from thread separation purchase waxed thread, but drag it through a tissue or cloth to remove most of the wax, otherwise it will build up when the thread is pulled through a hole or block. I tend to use very fine, 8/0, 10/0 or thinner, i.e. higher number, and look online to find mono thread for the most part. This thread is a single fiber, so there is no separation.

Hope that helps! If I run across the site where I got mine I will update and send along the URL.

Anchor's A Weigh!

John Fox III

I buy my fly tying/ fly fishing materials from J Stockard Fly Flishing @ JSflyfishing.com

I also go to my local sporting goods, outdoorsman shop. Like Mr.Fox said, 3/0, 6/0, 8/0 size. Black, tan, brown, white (for stripe). Waxed is good. I rewax EVERY line again because drilled holes are rough, not smooth on the thread and will fray it when the thread moves in and out. Stockard has beeswax.