Bottled Ship Builder

TRIALS AND TRIBULATION WITH A BIGANTINE, OR BEGINNERS PARADISE.

Bruce Foxworthy

IMG-7028(1).thumb.jpg.12fac815cb01da4e5969bd6be44b0a49.jpgIMG-7112.thumb.jpg.330ac06c202b2865ed088da743e87ba2.jpgIMG-7038(1).thumb.jpg.0a081f5274d29b6ff8380b8f264d7528.jpgFirst off, I'd like to thank you guys of the forum and most of all Daniel Siemens, for all the wonderful knowledge,help and encouragement I've had the pleasure to receive during the undertaking of this build. My hope with this piece meal presentation is that some other novices out there can benefit fro m my particular experience in some way. So here we go.

In almost every way this build incorporates techniques and processes I've never tried before and only became aware of through the pages of this forum and discussions with Daniel. Along the way I had to contrive some methods to get things done, some of which I'll share here. As I was going along I also found myself tearing things down and starting over again and again because I did something that wasn't going to work and had to fix that, ASS-Brigantine.jpg.0c8c9aa590459e1d0446e542a867a51f.jpgtesting my patients all the while. After a two month period of time working most every day on it, I came up with a, I think, pretty decent generic brigantine that I basically modeled after this silhouette.

I had never built a SIB model with more than one square sail on it before so I've been itching for years now to get to that place where I could confidently build square riggers. For the most part, the majority of the dozen or so SIBs I built years ago were schooners or sloops of one kind or another.

MY FIRST CLAY SEA MATERIAL:

I decided earl on after looking at some of the seas in pictures on this forum that I was going to use clay for my sea instead of what I had been using which was blue RTV silicone. Here's a picture of what my seas use to look like.

IMG-6697.thumb.jpg.3ee076015e7bd44be0798dcbf104d28a.jpg