Bottled Ship Builder

Greetings All

John Fox III

John Fox III here! Some of you probably "know" me, but for those who do not: been building sib's since 1985, have had a number of articles printed in the old Model Ship Builder Magazine, taken over I believe now by Ships In Scale Magazine, the Bottleshipwright and most recently in the Nautical Research Journal.

I build only sailing vessels, ships or boats. I am a professional, though i do build to sell, I build more out of a drive to bring a little more respect to our particular genre of model ship building. I am known for extreme detailing, and scale and historic accuracy, and pushing the limit of what can be done. I can't even begin to imagine how many sib's I've completed over the years. I include light bulbs in that as most of my work now days is in light bulbs and not bottles. Reason for this is the clarity of the glass in bulbs is so much better, allows people to see the extreme detailing far better.

I almost always scan plan drawings, import them into a CAD program and redraft them at full scale. Using the computer and CAD, one can get very accurate drawings but best of all, one can print those drawings to any scale one wants. Another benefit is that everything on a CAD drawing can be done in what is basically a transparent layer of the drawing, masts one one layer, hull on another, deck structures on another, all the various rigging split onto as many layers as you want, and each layer can be turned on or off before printing a given drawing. This helps tremendously when one wants to see something in particular on a scaled printout, as one can turn off anything that gets in the way or is unwanted on that particular print.