Bottled Ship Builder

Any real life sailors?

Gwyl Blaser

I've been sailing real life since the early 1980's.  Started with a small Lido 14, then to a Santana 21, off to a Catalina 25, a couple of Santana 20 race boats, a few catamarans, back down size to a Catalina 18, and now we are sailing a 30 footer. 

I just can't seem to get it out of my blood.  I love being on the water.

Gwyl

Hi DSiemens,

If I had it to start over again, I would probably still start with something like the Lido 14 or similar boat.  It does not have a weighted keel but instead has a dagger board.  It is a boat that you might get wet in but it sure teaches you a lot about sail control etc.  From there I personally would go to something like the Catalina 18 or a Hunter 18.  Both of these have weighted keels.  Much more stable and solid but still small enough to trailer easily and they are a blast to sail.  A used Lido in daily good shape can be had for $1000 give or take a dollar to two.  The Catalina 18 can be had (an older model, nothing wrong with that) for as little as $3500 to $4500.

Here is a Lido 14

post-1-0-60381500-1426130721_thumb.jpeg

and here is the Catalina 18

post-1-0-85457000-1426130735_thumb.jpeg

Gwyl

Greetings,

Been sailing small boats for about 15 years now. Started with a Chinook 13, for about eight years, and now a Rebel 16. There is nothing quite like sailing, my wife and I spend considerable time on the water when it's not ice, fishing mostly, but sailing is such fun we love to get the Rebel out when the wind isn't too strong. The Chinook was so easy I could sail it by myself, the Rebel is large enough my wife does the jib, while I the main and tiller. We sometimes get up to Bayfield, where we rent a C&C 24'er, just for a day sail, and with someone who actually knows a lot more about sailing than we do along with us.