Bottled Ship Builder

Scratch build Bluenose

Will

Very excited to contribute to this friendly and knowledgeable forum. I'm a complete newbie in so many ways, but excited to learn and have a go. I chose the Bluenose because (a) I think it's really a beautiful boat, (b) seemed like a reasonable challenge level for a first SiB, and (c) I really like the story behind the Fisherman's Cup. I'll definitely be getting a Canadian coin to finish off the bottle.

Here's the bottle. I got two identical "Hand-blown made in Italy bottles" from eBay for $9 + shipping. Opening is 3/4" which seems good. With pen for scale.

IMG_0460.thumb.JPG.9f471a549f6694012610c3f2e57b9630.JPG

This post concerns my first attempt at the hull. I'd never carved anything before and used to hate woodwork at school because I usually made a horrible job and cut myself. Now I'm adopting a growth mindset and not letting my past fears overwhelm me. I didn't have too many tools at home so I had to buy a few things. Firstly, a carving knife. I got a real dud, it turns out. Carving knife from Michael's (own brand "Artminds"). It was a pain to use, and I should have read the reviews before buying. Nevertheless I made it work for now.

I don't own a vice so I used a clamp on my desk:

IMG_0461.thumb.JPG.4edb718afee582e7cd47a35f648f55a9.JPG

I printed out the plans, which I had scaled on Photoshop. I added a 2" marker to check that the printed plans really were the scale I wanted.IMG_0463.thumb.JPG.42544144e4f7dc1239a435eaf25c1503.JPG

Overall it wasn't too difficult. I needed to use a coping saw first to cut the block down to size. It seems a scroll saw would be even better but I don't have one. I found that the clamp made a really nice handle when the ship got too small to carve easily.

IMG_0465.thumb.JPG.4e2527c672573cda24b8118d7ef622b0.JPG